Interview: Bright Light Bright Light

Rod Thomas, a.k.a Bright Light Bright Light, was kind enough to reply to our questions whilst preparing his imminent trip to SXSW next month. We’re proud to publish our very first interview on Dear Albion! (Take that Oprah).

After releasing the single Love Part II last year and touring the UK with Ellie Goulding, Rod is going to have a very busy 2011.  We’ve taken the sacred rules of interviewing to a whole new level and Facebooked him some questions. Here’s the result:

Hi Rod! Can you give us 5 words that sum your 2010 up?

Amazing, rollercoaster, productive, intense, fun.

Tell us a bit more about the video for How To Make A Heart.

I’m collaborating with new directors to make a series of videos for my album, and ‘How To Make A Heart’ is one of the first we’re sharing. My friend Gavin Leisfield animated it after we met through a mutual friend. It’s incredible – he’s a very, very talented guy and when I saw it it blew me away. Basically I sent him the song, left him to it, and he presented me with this. I was speechless!

What’s coming up for Bright Light Bright Light?

We’re going to SXSW in Austin, Texas in March, which I’m very excited about! We have a couple of shows there, and it will also be amazing to watch bands that aren’t big enough to fly to the UK yet, so that week will be fantastic. I’m finishing off the album, and making more in the series of videos, so keeping busy!

What’s the last album you bought? Any good?

I bought James Blake’s album a few days ago but actually haven’t had chance to listen to it yet!

And finally, you’re on boat with GaGa, Beyoncé, Kylie and Rihanna. The boat sinks, and you can save only one of them. Who and why?

I think I have to say Kylie. I ADORE Beyoncé’s music and stage show, but so much of my growing up was spent listening to Kylie I owe her that much. ‘Light Years’ has a really big part in the lives of me and my best friends from home.

Anything else you’d like to add? Anything, literally? Not even some dirty gossip?

I might have gossip in a month or two.

Thank you!

(Nearly ditched the interview altogether when we saw Rod decided to save Kylie…(JOKING, we love you Kylie). We’re wishing him to have a great time at SXSW! Ah, and Rihanna might finally reply to our Facebook message after she sees this interview.)

You can download How To Make A Heart here and watch the video below:

One thought on “Interview: Bright Light Bright Light

  1. Pingback: Bestival 2011 in videos « Dear Albion

Leave a comment